I'm Looking for...

Receive the latest Council Updates


Local Government Elections 2018

Local Government is the third tier of Government in Tasmania.  Tasmania is divided into 29 municipal areas, with each area having a governing council consisting of between 7 and 12 Councillors.  The Derwent Valley Council consists of 8 Councillors.  Each council is chaired by a Mayor and has a Deputy Mayor.

Elections for Tasmania's 29 councils is conducted by full postal ballot every four years. The next Local Government Elections will be held during September and October 2018.


2018 Election Calendar
Saturday 8 September Notice of Election 
Monday 10 September 9.00am  Nominations Open 
Thursday 13 September 6.00pm  Rolls Close
Monday 24 September 12 noon Nominations Close 
Tuesday 25 September 12 noon  Announcement of Nominations
Tuesday 30 October 10.00am Close of Polling
Standing as a Candidate

Standing for election provides you with a opportunity to influence the future direction of the Derwent Valley community and help those who require support. 

Whether you are a resident, property or business owner, becoming an Councillor can be the most direct and rewarding way to contribute to your local community.

Councillors play a vital leadership role, working together to create and implement their community’s vision, strategic direction and the values within which they operate.

  • the Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors are all elected for four-year terms;
  • the Mayor and Deputy Mayor are popularly elected and must nominate for these positions.  You cannot be a candidate for both Mayor and Deputy Mayor.  You must successfully stand for, and be elected, as an Councillor before you can accept the office of Mayor or Deputy Mayor; and
  • you cannot be a candidate in more than one municipal area.

The Nomination Form and online Candidate Statement may only be lodged once nominations open on Monday 10 September.


Candidate Information Booklet

The Candidate Information Booklet is an important reference for intending candidates.

If you would like a hard copy, copies are available from the Tasmanian Electoral Commission (TEC) office, 169 Main Road, Moonah. Alternatively, call the TEC on 1800 801 701 and they will post one to you.


Nomination Form

The Nomination Form and online Candidate Statement may only be lodged once nominations open on Monday 10 September.


Who can vote at a Local Government Election?

Anyone who is enrolled on the State roll for an address in a municipal area, is automatically enrolled for the municipal area as well.

Other people who own or occupy land in the municipal area, or are the nominated representatives of a corporate body which owns or occupies land in the municipal area, are also eligible to enrol, but must lodge an application with the General Manager.

Voting in the Local Government elections is not compulsory and is conducted by postal ballot.  Local Government elections have a ‘Polling Period’ which this year will run from 9-30 October. Voters receive a postal ballot pack at their enrolled address and have two weeks to complete and return their vote.

The Council encourages those wishing to vote to ensure that they are properly enrolled:-

  • you can vote if you are on the State Electoral Roll and are a resident in the Derwent Valley Council municipal area (you don’t have to own a property); or
  • you can vote if you are registered for the General Manager’s Roll.  This means that you own or manage property in the municipal area but are not a resident or are ineligible for Tasmanian House of Assembly enrolment (i.e. you are not an Australian citizen) but you reside in the Derwent Valley municipal area.  You must complete an enrolment form to be included on the General Manager’s Roll for owners/occupiers or corporate bodies.

To be included on the General Manager’s Roll you need to complete the applicable Enrolment Form (provided below) and return to:

Debbie Hutchinson
Senior Administration Officer
Derwent Valley Council
PO Box 595

or email dhutchinson@dvc.tas.gov.au by 6.00pm on Thursday, 13 September 2018.

To be enrolled under these special provisions, you must ensure that the General Manager has received your completed enrolment form prior to the close of rolls for an election.

A A A|
Derwent Valley Council
The Derwent Valley Municipal area is characterised by its ever growing rural townships, green hills and river valley environment. Major features of the Derwent Valley municipality include its land and fresh water resources.
Contact Council
Circle Street
PO Box 595
New Norfolk Tas 7140
Fax: 03 6261 8546
Opening Hours
Monday - Friday
8:15am to 5:00pm
(Closed on Public Holidays)